2013 AAOMPT Conference Summary

For all of those who were able to make it this year, 2013 marks another great and growing year for the AAOMPT annual conference.  The attendance of this conference reached a level of almost 600 attendees, the 2nd highest in the history of AAOMPT.

This awesome gathering of dynamic and passionate individuals represent the best that Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy (OMPT) profession has to offer, as well as the best practice changing content available to conference attendees.  This conference continues to set the bar for high quality content paired with the even more important ability for conference attendees to meet, network, and socialize with the movers and shakers of the OMPT world.

This year’s conference theme was “Balancing the Three Pillars of Evidence Based Practice”, and this theme was well reflected in the content of not only the keynote presentations by the likes of Jim Meadows, Alison Rushton, and Duncan Reid, but also the research platforms and posters presented by many of the attendees and members of AAOMPT.  Conference attendees also had the privilege of hearing Gail Deyle (Distinguished Lecturer Award), Mike Rogers (Mennell Service Award), and Barbara Stevens (Kaltenborn “Teach I Must” Award) all speak and share their perspective on the course of their lives, their careers, and our beloved profession.

For those who did not have an opportunity to attend this awesome gathering of practice challenging clinicians and researchers, please mark your calendars for next year’s conference, which is being held in San Antonio, TX from Oct 22nd-Oct 26th.  This upcoming gathering will undoubtedly be as exciting and informative as this years, so if you are looking to energize and better your practice through the collective wisdom and knowledge of your best and brightest colleagues, seriously consider attending this event and becoming a member of AAOMPT.  It is a worthwhile investment in your development as an Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapist.

This post was written by Chad Garvey, PR Committee Chair.